Cork Open 2023

All-Ireland Mahjong is delighted to announce its first riichi tournament!

26-27 August 2023

Venue: Blackrock National Hurling Club

This will be a seven-hanchan tournament over two days, playing to standard EMA riichi rules. As this is the first Irish tournament, it will not be EMA-rated. This is to help provide a welcoming & enjoyable first tournament for our many new Irish players. Nevertheless, we know that all players will bring their best mahjong skills.

Getting to Cork

Cork Airport has flights from several British airports, as well as major hubs such as Amsterdam Schiphol and Paris CDG. It’s a short bus ride (~€3, you can buy a ticket from the bus driver with cash) or taxi ride (~€20) from the airport into the city. Otherwise, Dublin Airport is 3 hours away from Cork City centre using  Aircoach or GoBus services (~€21).

Where to stay:

We have an opportunity to rent student accommodations that are empty for the summer as a group. The price is €50 per person per night, for an individual bedroom in a unit with a shared kitchen and living space. This is easily the cheapest for an individual room, but space is limited. If you are interested please contact us as soon as possible, even if you are not sure to attend!

Hotel accommodation in Cork is challenging. The two most affordable options are Rezz for individual rooms and Sheilas Hostel for a place in a dorm. There are also several AirBNB hosts available. We strongly recommend booking as early as possible, as your options will shrink quickly. We are looking into alternative options that we might be able to provide, feel free to reach out to discuss this.

Tournament details

Entry fee: €40 (access to the tournament, catering and snacks on both days, to be paid by bank transfer/revolut)

Registration: email to

Rules: EMA RCR

Format: round robin, 7 rounds

Location: Transportation in Cork is heavily based on car, so we will provide a shuttle from the city centre to the venue. Details will be announced closer to the event.



  • 9:00-9:30 registration
  • 9:30-11:00 first round
  • 11:00-11:30 break
  • 11:30-13:00 second round
  • 13:00-14:00 lunch
  • 14:00-15:30 third round
  • 15:30-16:00 break
  • 16:00-17:30 fourth round


  • 8:30-9:00 registration
  • 9:00-10:30 fifth round
  • 10:30-11:00 break
  • 11:00-12:30 sixth round
  • 12:30-13:30 lunch
  • 13:30-15:00 seventh round
  • 15:00-15:30 closing ceremony

Registered players:

  1. Bryan Manchez, France
  2. Kathy Horton, USA
  3. Cathal Maguire, Dublin
  4. Karolina Trepinska, France
  5. Conor Mullin, Belfast
  6. Andrew Smith, Cork,
  7. Simon Picard, Cork
  8. Martin Schleimer, Cork
  9. Jonathan Matchett, Belfast
  10. Livey Irwin, Belfast